Back to Top

What is the Platte County Commissioner's Role?

Platte County has three Commissioners - one presiding and two associates, who are responsible for setting the County's priorities through the annual budget, passing county ordinances and resolutions, and appointing county residents to numerous boards and committees to administer taxpayer funds and other statutory issues and responsibilities.  The Commission sets the County's portion of property and real estate tax levies and can vote to place County sales taxes and indebtedness on the ballot.    

Commissioners oversee the County's parks, trails and community centers, information services, human resources, County Road District No. 1, the sewer district, emergency management, computer systems, planning & zoning, convention and tourism, and all county buildings.  Commissioners represent the County on boards throughout the metro area. 

In Platte County the Commission Administrative Session is typically held on the first and third Monday of the month at 10 AM in the Platte County Administrative Building (415 Third Street, Platte City, second floor).  You may reach commission offices at 816-858-3334.

Paid for by "Wood for Commissioner",
Carla Killen, Treasurer.
Powered by - Political Websites
Close Menu